TRUTH, LIES BOTH HURTS

“So you’re always honest,” I said. 
“Aren’t you?” 
“No,” I told him. “I’m not.” 
“Well, that’s good to know, I guess.” 
“I’m not saying I’m a liar,” I told him. He raised his eyebrows. “That’s not how I meant it, anyways.” 
“How’d you mean it, then?” 
“I just…I don’t always say what I feel.” 
“Why not?” 
“Because the truth sometimes hurts,” I said. 
“Yeah,” he said. “So do lies, though.” 

~~ Sarah Dessen, Just Listen

One thought on “TRUTH, LIES BOTH HURTS

Leave a Reply

